Tech Law Journal

Capitol Dome
News, records, and analysis of legislation, litigation, and regulation affecting the computer, internet, communications and information technology sectors

TLJ Links: Home | Calendar | Subscribe | Back Issues | Reference
Other: Thomas | USC | CFR | FR | FCC | USPTO | CO | NTIA | EDGAR

More Key Senate Race Results

(November 8, 2000) Other Senators who have been active on tech related issues won re-election to the Senate, including: Senators Hatch, Burns, Kohl, DeWine, Kyl, Snowe, Feinstein, and Lott.

Rep. Orrin
Hatch (R-UT)

Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-UT) easily won re-election. He is the Chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee where he has been active on intellectual property, antitrust, and immigration issues.

He is a nemisis of the music industry for his positions on peer to peer copying of music files, and of Microsoft for his position on the government's antitrust case. He was instrument in this Congress in passing the patent reform bill, and the H1B visa bill.

Sen. Conrad Burns (R-MT) narrowly won re-election in Montana. He is the Chairman of the Communications Subcommittee of the Senate Commerce Committee, and one of the most tech friendly members of the Senate. He has championed encryption reform legislation.

Sen. Herb Kohl (D-WI) easily won re-election, as expected. He is the ranking Democrat on the Antitrust Subcommittee of the Senate Judiciary Committee. Sen Mike DeWine (R-OH) also easily won re-election. He is the Chairman of the Antitrust Subcommittee. The two Senators have a close and cooperative working relationship.

Sen. Jon Kyl (R-AZ) won re-election with 79% of the vote. He is a member of the Senate Judiciary Committee. He has taken a leading role in trying to pass legislation restricting Internet gambling. He has also been active on network security and identity theft issues.

Sen. Dianne

Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-ME) easily won re-election. She sits on the Senate Commerce Committee, and is one of the Senate's leading defenders of the e-rate program.

Sen Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) easily defeated Rep. Tom Campbell (R-CA) to retain her Senate seat. She also sits on the Judiciary Committee.

In the open Senate race in Florida, Democrat Bill Nelson defeated Rep. Bill McCollum. Rep. McCollum had been Chairman of the House Judiciary Committee's Crime Subcommittee, where he had been an opponent of encryption reform legislation.

Sen. Trent Lott (R-MS), the Senate Majority Leader, easily won re-election with 66% of the vote in Mississippi.


Subscriptions | FAQ | Notices & Disclaimers | Privacy Policy
Copyright 1998-2008 David Carney, dba Tech Law Journal. All rights reserved.
Phone: 202-364-8882. P.O. Box 4851, Washington DC, 20008.